Skip to content

I disagree.

June 28, 2010

funny pictures of cats with captions

I don’t care what any of my fellow English scholars think: I love lolcats. Besides, deliberately incorrect grammar can be cute, while people who employ bad grammar because they are too lazy to proofread make me a sad panda. Everyone makes mistakes. In conversation and casual correspondence, it does not bother me. Poor spelling and grammatical errors really only irritate me if found in some professional publication that presumably had to go through some sort of editorial process. It makes me wonder if the copy editors actually read the piece carefully, and if so, how they are qualified to be copy editors. It drives me bonkers when things like movie posters butcher the English language for no particular reason.

Lolcats have a grammar and style all their own. Grammar is not about concrete rules set in stone. It is about communicating effectively; and if lolcats want to communicate a sense of playfulness and humour, deliberately poor grammar is one way to do it.

</rant>

Now that I am done ranting, you can have another lolcat:

funny pictures of cats with captions

And maybe one more:

funny pictures of cats with captions
see more Lolcats and funny pictures

From → lolcat Monday

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

